Take a special tour of the historic home built in 1852 and discover how pioneer/prospectors Charles Camden and Levi Tower re-shaped the landscape to create a home for their family and an “oasis” for the many travelers during and after the California Gold Rush. After the tour of the home, try your hand at finding gold the old-fashion way using just a goldpan and small shovel. The home will be open and goldpanning opportunities will be available from 1:00pm to 5:00pm on both Saturday July 28 and Sunday July 29. The Camden House is located in the Tower House Historic District about nine miles past the Visitor Center off Highway 299 West.
A number of free ranger-led programs are being offered this summer through the Labor Day weekend. For more information please visit our website at www.nps.gov/whis or call the Visitor Center at 530-246-1225. During the summer season, the Visitor Center will have extended hours and be open daily from 9am to 5pm. Located 8 miles west of Redding at the intersection of Highway 299 and Kennedy Memorial Drive, the Visitor Center offers exhibits on the history and development of the Whiskeytown area as well as information on interpretive programs, camping, and other local information. Annual and daily passes as well as books, maps, postcards and other publications can also be purchased at the Visitor Center.
-from press release