The scorching summer sun can turn an automobile into a deadly oven-on-wheels for young ones, pets and adults alike. The California Highway Patrol (CHP) warns the public about the dangers of leaving children, loved ones or pets unattended inside a vehicle while parked in the hot, summer sun.
“It takes mere minutes for the temperature inside of a vehicle to become deadly, even in the shade,” said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow. “Never leave children, pets or anyone unable to care for themselves in the car, even with the windows rolled down.”
Leaving an unattended child in a car is illegal, so if you see one, call 911 immediately. It can mean a matter of life or death.
The national, non-profit organization 4 R Kids Sake designated August as “Purple Ribbon Month,” to raise awareness and educate the public about the dangers of leaving a child unattended in a vehicle. In recognition of “Purple Ribbon Month,” CHP officers will attach a purple ribbon to the antenna of their patrol cars as a gentle reminder to not leave children in the vehicle. This action is part of a campaign to remember 6-month-old Kaitlyn Russell, who died Aug. 15, 2000, when she was left alone in her babysitter’s car for about two hours.
“Kaitlyn’s Law” states that anyone who leaves a child 6 years or younger inside a vehicle without the supervision of someone at least 12 years old can be fined $100.
“It takes very little effort to take a child or loved one with you,” said Commissioner Farrow. “It is not worth it to leave them in the car, even for a few moments.”
-from press release
A News Cafe, founded in Shasta County by Redding, CA journalist Doni Greenberg, is the place for people craving local Northern California news, commentary, food, arts and entertainment. Views and opinions expressed here are not necessarily those of anewscafe.com.