The historic Camden House at Whiskeytown National Recreation Area will be open to the public Saturday, July 5, 2014 from 11 am to 5 pm. Activities include docent guided house tours, along with “Walk in Time” ranger assisted gold panning from 3 pm to 5 pm.
The Camden House was built by Charles Camden in 1852 at the beginning of the California Gold Rush. The house is located within the Tower House Historic District, approximately 7 ½ miles west of the Whiskeytown visitor center, on CA Highway 299. Visitors can park at the Tower House Historic District parking lot. Walk the paved trail from the kiosk, across the footbridge, to the Camden House. Vehicles must display a valid entrance pass.
The visitor center is located at the intersection of Highway 299 and Kennedy Memorial Drive. Day-use passes can be purchased at the visitor center or at the Tower House Historic District pay station.
For more information on Whiskeytown NRA, please call the visitor center at (530) 246-1225 or stop by between the hours of 9 am and 5 pm. You can also visit the park’s website at: http://www.nps.gov/whis
-from press release