North State Symphony Masterworks 4: Pathos and Hope

Our season finale showcases Brahms’ exuberant final symphony, his most intense, emotionally charged and beautiful work. Beginning the program is Samuel Barber’s unforgettable and heart-wrenching Adagio for Strings, music that is able to convey hope and courage in the face of tragedy. The gold medalist at the 67th Wideman International Piano Competition, Yinuo Wang, will be featured in Grieg’s passionate Piano Concerto.

Yinuo Wang

Yinuo Wang, a young China-born pianist, graduating from the prestige Music Middle School affiliated to the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing, and holding the Performer’s Diploma gained when studying with the renowned pianist Alessio Bax at the Southern Methodist University in Dallas, she is an active player in many concerts both in China and the United States, including collaborating with the New York based Escher Quartet and the cellist Andres Diaz. In her performance “the integrity with which she approaches a piece of music is something that every musician values”, and her playing “has plenty to say and a great deal to offer.” (Robert McDonald at Juilliard School)

She has won first prizes at the Wideman International Piano Competition in Louisiana, the 1st Indonesia Pusaka International Piano Competition in Jakarta, and the Meadows Concerto Competition at SMU in Dallas. Her other prizes in competitions include the IX International Competition for Young Pianists in Memory of Vladimir Horowitz in Ukraine, the 1st Midwest International Piano Competition in USA, the Chautauqua Institution Piano Competition in New York State, and the competition of the 18th Hamamatsu International Piano Academy in Japan, among many others. Her festival activities include the PianoTexas, the Morningside Music Bridge in Calgary, Canada, the Hamamatsu Piano Academy in Japan, and the Chautauqua Institution in USA.

Yinuo has performed with the Academic Symphony Orchestra of the National Philharmonic Society of Ukraine, and the Romanian Mihail Jora Philharmonic Orchestra in Italy. She has also played solo piano recitals in Indonesia and throughout China in cities such as Beijing, Qingdao, Hangzhou, Wuhan, Shenzhen, Kunming, Ningbo and Dalian. In recent years she is an active performer on the stage at the Meadows School of the Arts, SMU in Dallas.

Free pre-concert talk one hour before each performance.

Single Tickets range from $18 to $55 with discounts available for students and seniors.

Conductor: Scott Seaton

Guest Artists: Yinuo Wang, piano

Saturday, May 11, 2019 @ 7:30PM Cascade Theatre, Redding, CA

Single Tickets on Sale Now!

Sunday, May 12, 2019 @ 2:00PM Laxson Auditorium, Chico, CA

Single Tickets on Sale Now!

Press Release

-from press release