Exchange Club to honor Peace Officers of the Year


The Exchange Club of Redding will host its 42nd annual Peace Officer of the Year awards luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, March 12, at the Win-River Resort & Casino.

Congressman Doug LaMalfa will be the guest speaker.

“The Exchange Club of Redding is very proud to have been honoring local law enforcement personnel for more than four decades,” said Dave Shoffner, chairman of the event. “The fact the event has stood the test of time reinforces its importance to law enforcement personnel and the communities they serve. Recognizing outstanding representatives of local law enforcement lets them know we appreciate the outstanding contributions they make to the community on a daily basis.”

It is the longest ongoing recognition of law enforcement personnel in Shasta County.

The following individuals/agencies will be honored:

Sgt. Steven Blunk                                           Anderson Police Department

Officer Shon Hill                                            California Highway Patrol

Officer Paul Slagle                       Redding Police Department

Investigator Dan Martin                                 Shasta Co. District Attorney

Deputy Mike Nelson                                      Shasta Co. Marshal’s Office

Deputy Probation Off. James Goodwine       Shasta Co. Probation Dept.

Deputy Pam Depuy                                        Shasta Co. Sheriff’s Office

You are invited to join us for lunch and to cover the event. The actual awards presentation will start at approximately noon.

However, because the awards are not a “surprise” to recipients, they will be available before as well as after the ceremony for interviews.

Please contact Bill Wagner 941-0680 if you plan to join us.

– Press Release

Press Release

-from press release