North State Symphony Welcomes Conductor Scott Seaton

The North State Symphony renews its search for a new Conductor-Music Director on Feb. 21st in Chico and 22nd in Redding. Their concert called “Discover!” will present Scott Seaton, a candidate to become the orchestra’s new conductor, and Lindsay Deutsch, a renowned violin soloist.

As one of four finalists for the North State Symphony post, Seaton hopes to replace Kyle Pickett as the permanent leader of the esteemed local orchestra. Seaton has conducted extensively in the US and abroad, in both the symphonic world and that of opera. He is presently the permanent conductor of the Minot Symphony in Minot, North Dakota.

Seaton will be in the North State for the week preceding the concerts, and will have opportunities to meet the music-loving public. He will also give a pre-concert talk one hour before each performance.

Lindsay Deutsch, violin soloist, also has an extensive international concert life, and has a particular interest in involving young people with classical music. Locally, she’ll be working with the young musicians in the Youth Orchestra sponsored by the Music Teachers’ Association (Chico) and with students at Redding School for the Arts.

With the North State Symphony, Lindsay Deutsch will perform the First Violin Concerto by German composer Max Bruch. On the same program, Seaton will conduct music from Midsummer Night’s Dream by Mendelssohn and the Seventh Symphony by Dvorak.

The Chico concert is sponsored by the local office of Stifel Financial, on Mangrove Ave. Lindsay Deutsch’s Chico appearance is sponsored by Helga Ruge, and Richard and Pat Macias.

Tickets for the Chico NSS concert are available at or by calling 898-6333.

The Redding performance is sponsored by Kristy Davis, O.D., and Dave and Pat Dennis. Gayle and Dr. Art Tilles are sponsoring conductor Seaton, while Don and Heidi Weidlein and Tom and Gretchen Stone sponsor violinist Lindsay Deutsch.

Redding’s Cascade Theatre Box Office, 243-8877 (or at is the site for tickets to the Feb. 22nd concert.

More information is available at the symphony’s website

– Press Release

Press Release

-from press release